Skip links and keyboard navigation

Indigenous Land and Sea Ranger program

The Queensland Government funds 76 Indigenous land and sea rangers in northern and western Queensland, who care for the state's world-class natural environment.

Most land and sea rangers are Traditional Owners of the land on which they work. They are employed through local Indigenous host organisations with funding provided by the Queensland Government.

Listing 17 ranger group locations.

Group logoLocationNumber of rangersHost organisation
PormpuraawPormpuraawSixPormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council
MapoonMapoonThreeMapoon Aboriginal Shire Council
GeorgetownGeorgetownFourEwamian Aboriginal Corporation
Home HillHome HillFiveGudjuda Reference Group Aboriginal Corporation
NormantonNormantonSixCarpentaria Land Council Aboriginal Corporation
BurketownBurketownSixCarpentaria Land Council Aboriginal Corporation
CardwellCardwellTwoGirringun Aboriginal Corporation
InjinooInjinooTwoNorthern Peninsula Area Regional Council in conjunction with the Apudthama Lands Trust.
AurukunAurukunSixAak Puul Ngantam (APN)
LauraLauraFiveSouth Cape York Catchments
Archer PointArcher PointFourYuku-Baja-Muliku Landowner & Reserves Ltd
Lake Eyre BasinLake Eyre BasinFive in each locationDugalunji Aboriginal Corporation
Wujal WujalWujal WujalFiveJabalbina Yalanji Aboriginal Corporation
MelsonbyMelsonbyFourSouth Cape York Catchments
GladstoneGladstoneThreeGidarjil Development Corporation
Minjerrabah (North Stradbroke Island–Dunwich)Minjerrabah (North Stradbroke Island–Dunwich)FiveQuandamooka Yoolooburrabee Aboriginal Corporation
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
Last updated
21 April 2017
  1. Is your feedback about:
  2. (If you chose ‘website’ above)

    Page feedback

    1. How satisfied are you with your experience today? *
  3. (If you chose ‘service’ above)

    Feedback on government services, departments and staff

    Please use our complaints and compliments form.